30 day challenge: day 21

Sorry for skipping yesterday, folks. I was recovering from a hangover and also I forgot because I had some big ol’ jitters about starting my new job today, oops.

In case any of you were wondering: it’s a temporary job for the summer (until September) at a warehouse that distributes books around the country – mainly for ferries, but also for book shops and whatnot, I’m pretty sure. I mostly spent my day putting price stickers on books and packing them up for delivery today, but tomorrow I’m going on a trip to Plymouth for a delivery! I won’t be back until suuuper late, but I also don’t have to get there until 2pm (though I do have to learn on the fly how to drive a van, which should certainly be interesting) so I can have a lie-in at least. I’ll do my best to remember to write a post before I go.

Anyway! Here’s today’s topic.

WHAT IS YOUR FAVOURITE TV SHOW AND WHY?

I don’t watch a whole lot of TV, even though Umby lets me use his Netflix, just because I’m not super into TV shows – but, regardless, my favourite show at the moment has to be Brooklyn Nine-Nine.

So here’s the Wikipedia synopsis, because I’m too lazy to write my own:

“Set in the fictional 99th Precinct of the New York City Police Department in Brooklyn, Brooklyn Nine-Nine follows a team of detectives headed by newly appointed Captain Ray Holt (Andre Braugher). Among the detectives is Jake Peralta (Andy Samberg), who frequently tops the squad in collars despite his relaxed, carefree attitude, much to the annoyance of his more by-the-book colleague, Amy Santiago (Melissa Fumero). Charles Boyle (Joe Lo Truglio) is a reliable but quirky detective whose emotions can sometimes go wild, as opposed to the stoic and mysterious Rosa Diaz (Stephanie Beatriz). The final two detectives, Michael Hitchcock (Dirk Blocker) and Norman “Norm” Scully (Joel McKinnon Miller), are older and often incompetent, although not without their usefulness. The detectives report to Sergeant Terry Jeffords (Terry Crews), a devoted family man who is initially afraid to go back to active police work for fear that he might die in the line of duty and thus leave his two children without a father. Rounding out the precinct is sarcastic civilian administrator Gina Linetti (Chelsea Peretti), who seems to value everything like dancing and her social life over work, and does anything to avoid her job.”

So, why do I love this show? Because it just makes me feel good. It’s something I watch when I’m feeling low or sad and it is almost guaranteed to make me feel better.

The episodes are short enough that my attention span doesn’t wander. It’s genuinely hilarious (see this cold open) without relying on offensive stereotypes – it’s just fun and goofy and silly, as well as being entirely affectionate and warm-hearted at its core.

The humour aside, each and every character in the main cast feels well-rounded and multi-dimensional. Their relationships with each other feel completely genuine, even with the more stoic characters like Rosa and Holt. The male characters don’t rely on treating their female co-workers badly for jokes: in fact, quite the opposite – these characters genuinely respect each other. And the representation is spot-on, too, with its multi-cultural, LGBT-inclusive cast – and it doesn’t shy away from real-world issues, like the systematic racism present in the police force.

Even while dealing with such things, though, Brooklyn Nine-Nine is just such a good, wholesome show. I know the things I listed above should probably just be pre-requisites for a good show by now, but it’s amazing how many shows fall short of such a low bar, particularly regarding representation. It’s so easy to watch and, like I said earlier, I’ve rarely finished an episode not feeling better for having watched it.

So, long story short: go watch it! Go now! Go find some clips on YouTube if you want a taster (so much of it is pure gold, honestly) and then get your butt to Netflix and watch this show. You’ll thank me later.

Leave a Reply

