30 day challenge: day 10

WHAT IS YOUR GUILTY PLEASURE?

Come one, come all and pour your judgment right on me for all the weird things I am about to reveal in this post!

For real, though, I don’t entirely believe in ‘guilty pleasures’ because you should love the things you love unapologetically and not let anyone give you shit for them … but that doesn’t mean I don’t have things that make me go ‘I really would prefer this not to be part of my life’ every time I think about them.

First off: I am such a slut for gossip and drama. I also feel very squirmy about saying so because I want to be the kind of person who doesn’t get involved in stuff that’s not my business and just focus on how I’m doing, but god damn it, as soon as someone comes to me with anything even vaguely resembling drama I just have to know! You know what they say, though – curiosity killed the cat, but satisfaction brought her back. (Not that gossip and whatnot brings me any satisfaction other than the immediate reaction of Knowing Things, but hey.)

Also, I’m calling out Umby right now for being a total enabler.

Anyway, the other one is trashy TV shows. It’s probably intrinsically tied to the first one in terms of if there’s drama I’m Fucking There, which is a weird revelation to have at 10:59 on a Monday morning.

It’s mostly American shows where they take a pretty easy, basic concept and then just make it fucking Wild. Stuff like Cake Boss and Tanked, where it’s always New York guys that end up so caricatured it’s kind of hard to believe they are real people making these insane cakes/fish tanks. I start watching them like, “Why am I watching this?” and then I’m 40 episodes in and still like, “Why am I still watching this?” This also applies to animal rescue shows which I also watch basically constantly when I’m at my parents’ house with their Sky TV, but at least those shows have adorable animals getting their happy endings, even with the incredible dramatics of it all.

(Also, it’s really funny to watch the British equivalents of all these shows and see just how chill they are in comparison.)

This really came to a peak back in first year, when I was penniless from just paying my student halls rent (my entire maintenance loan plus another £500) and could barely afford food. What I did have was my laptop – barely alive after a botched repair on it, but alive nonetheless – and access to YouTube and a large jar of Nutella my mum had bought me over the Christmas break.

You know what they have on YouTube? Almost every single episode of Dr. Phil that’s ever aired.

So I can tell you right now that my memories of that term of first year, between Christmas and Easter, is really just a blur of stress from having no money and barely any food and many, many nights spent watching Dr. Phil on YouTube while eating Nutella from the jar with a spoon because it was just about all I had to eat that I wasn’t saving for dinner the next day.

Imagine my surprise when Dr. Phil showed up on an episode of WWE Raw, which is one of my current interests. I had a real war flashback, that’s for sure.

So there you go: my insatiable lust for drama and TV shows that fill that need are the two things that I would consider my main guilty pleasures. There are others, but like I said earlier, I don’t love the concept of feeling bad for loving something harmless. Also, I’ve forgotten most of the others.

Anyway, I hope you’ve enjoyed this foray into my personal well of shame, and I’ll see you tomorrow for a glimpse into my taste in music!

Leave a Reply

