30 day challenge: day 5

WHAT ARE YOUR FAVOURITE COMFORT FOODS AND WHY?

Ah! That’s a nice up-turn from talking about religion and pet peeves. Anyone who knows me knows I like food A Lot (especially now I’ve started learning how to cook more things), so this should be a fun one to write.

Also, please don’t judge me.

  1. Spaghetti Bolognese: Not only was this something I ate a lot when I lived with my parents (my dad makes a Pretty Baller bolognese), but it was one of the first things I learned how to cook myself and make pretty regularly for Umby and me. It’s easy to make and it tastes really good. What’s not to love?
  2. Sunday Roasts: One of the few things I seriously miss about living with my parents is my mum’s roast dinners. Nothing in the world beats a homemade roast dinner. We had roast dinners every Sunday growing up and I’ve never stopped looking forward to them – they’re just awesome. My mum has a way of making roast potatoes that has ruined me, because I’ve never found any roast potatoes since that come close to being as good.
  3.  Chinese Chicken Curry: Okay, this is sort of a weird one, but stick with it. Chinese food was a much-coveted treat in my house growing up – we didn’t get it often, but we had a takeaway just down the road from us that did The Best Chinese Food I Have Ever Tasted. (Genuinely. I haven’t found a single Chinese food place here in Portsmouth that is anywhere near as good. That place ruined me.) Usually, we got Chinese food on special occasions and I would always get chicken curry and chips, because it tasted like heaven and would leave me in a food coma for at least a day. That takeaway closed during my first year of uni and I’ve never been so bitter about anything in my life.
  4. Fish and Chips: Another weekend staple that’s still going strong back at my parents’ house is chip shop fish and chips on a Saturday night. I genuinely wish I had the money to keep it up here in Portsmouth, but I am a broke student who rarely has the spare cash for such extravagance. Umby and me usually still indulge ourselves occasionally, though, because chip shop chips are so good, my dude.
  5. Shepherd’s/Cottage PieThis is another one of those things that has to be homemade for the full effect, but in the middle of winter cottage pie (and shepherd’s pie) are lifesavers. From November – February, if I could eat them every day, I probably would do my damned best. (Also, for those curious about the difference: shepherd’s pie uses lamb while cottage pie uses beef.)
  6. Fajitas: This is actually a pretty new one for me! I first had them with Umby and our friend Gaz waaay back when I was in first year. I’m not sure if Umby and me had even started dating yet. Either way, they Changed My Life and Umby has had to restrict my fajita intake to once a month, because it was getting out of control how often I was munching those bad boys (and how much making them all the time was munching my bank account up). Anyway, I’ve always had them with Umby, and it’s one of those things we have together that I just seriously love.

That’s all I can think of right now, and all I’m willing to torture myself with because now I’m super fucking hungry, goddamnit. It was nice to reminisce on good food, though.

Tomorrow is astrology, oooo! (I figured I’d warn you in advance in case you don’t care about that sort of thing.)

2 thoughts on “30 day challenge: day 5

Leave a Reply

